The Brattleboro Rotary Club awarded $24,000 in scholarships to eight local high school students who will be attending college this fall. The scholarships are funded by The Gateway Foundation, a tax-exempt affiliate of the Brattleboro Rotary Club.
The recipients, who each received $3,000, include: Elizabeth A. Doiron of Vernon, Daphne L. Kinney-Landis of Guilford, Naomi R. Kramer of Dummerston, Kristen E. Nadeau of Hinsdale, Claire M. Quaassdorff of Hinsdale, Eliza S. Rosen of Brattleboro, Hannah L. Strickland of Brattleboro, and Gabrielle Paige Wilhite of Townshend.

According to Scholarship Committee Chairman John Mabie, "We are happy to be able to offer these scholarships, and hope the assistance will help lead each student a step closer to his or her goals."

The Brattleboro Rotary Club established the Gateway Foundation in 1986 to create a fund to support scholarships awarded annually to local students pursuing college. The Foundation, which is a nonprofit and tax-exempt organization, awards a total of $24,000 in scholarships annually. It is funded by Rotary Club and individual contributions, and is a local chapter of the National Dollars for Scholars program.

Applications are accepted each spring from graduating seniors at the following high schools: Brattleboro Union, Hinsdale, Wilmington, and Leland and Gray, as well as the Austine School. Criteria for the awards are academic achievement, financial need, and community service, all of which are weighed evenly.

Pictured here (left to right) are: Hannah L. Strickland of Brattleboro and Elizabeth A. Doiron of Vernon with Club President Cindy Jerome and Scholarship Committee Chairman John Mabie.